منتدى المريض

لندن 2019

انعقد الاجتماع الثالث لمنتدى ALK Positive UK في مركز ماجي لرعاية مرضى السرطان في غرب لندن في 9 فبراير 2019.

 

كان هناك 20 مريضا و 22 من مقدمي الرعاية حاضرين.

 

بدأ الاجتماع بمنتدى مفتوح حيث تم تقسيم الحضور إلى مجموعتين في غرف منفصلة. ثم تبع ذلك ما يقرب من ساعتين من المناقشة الواسعة النطاق مع المرضى الذين قدموا الخطوط العريضة لرحلاتهم.

London Forum 2019.jpg

قدمت ديبرا مونتاج التقرير التالي نيابة عن أمناء ALK Positive Lung Cancer (المملكة المتحدة):

 

"حسنًا ، لقد عملنا لمدة ستة أشهر حتى الآن ويا لها من ستة أشهر! بالنسبة لأولئك الذين ليسوا على دراية ، تم عقد الاجتماع الأول للمرضى ومقدمي الرعاية في المملكة المتحدة في لندن في 7 يوليو 2018 و 15 مريضًا ومقدم رعاية حضر الاجتماع. وقد تحدث في الاجتماع الدكتور بوبات ، وهو خبير رائد في ALK + ، والذي كان من المتوقع أن يستمر عرضه التقديمي لمدة 30 دقيقة لمدة ساعة و 15 دقيقة وانتهى بعبارة "رجال مثلي لا يحدثون التغيير والتقدم ، إنهم أشخاص مثلك". أن الاجتماع القادم سيكون في مانشستر وسينظر في إنشاء جمعية خيرية.

 

تم إنشاء مجموعة Facebook بحلول نهاية يوليو حيث تمت إضافة 47 شخصًا من المجموعة العالمية. لقد شهدنا شهر يوليو على Twitter لأول مرة وقمنا بزيادة تواجدنا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من خلال بدء رحلتنا على Instagram في أكتوبر.

 

انعقد اجتماع مانشستر في 13 أكتوبر / تشرين الأول ، وعلى الرغم من عدم حضوره جيدًا ، فقد اجتاز قدرًا هائلاً من الأعمال ، بما في ذلك قرار السعي للحصول على حالة خيرية. تم تسجيل ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK) من قبل مفوضية المؤسسات الخيرية في ديسمبر 2018.

إذن ما الذي كنا عليه في ستة أشهر؟ حسنًا ، لقد انشغلنا بالتأكيد بالقائمة أدناه بالإنجازات حتى الآن:

  • بدأ تشغيل موقعنا الإلكتروني في اليوم الأول من شهر التوعية بسرطان الرئة في نوفمبر. لسوء الحظ ، لم يتم تنشيط وظيفة التحليلات إلا قبل أسبوعين. النبأ العظيم هو أننا استقبلنا 144 زائرًا ، بمتوسط 11 دقيقة من وقت المشاهدة في الأسبوعين الماضيين !!!

  • قام أعضاؤنا بتسليم مواد ALK للمرضى الإيجابيين إلى أكثر من 40 مستشفى حتى الآن ، مما أدى إلى زيادة مجموعة الدعم لدينا إلى 125 الآن.

  • لدينا الآن 183 متابعًا على Twitter وقد نشرنا ما يزيد عن 200 تغريدة في الأشهر الستة الأولى. خلال شهر التوعية بسرطان الرئة ، قمنا بتوليد 1500 انطباع ، كل ذلك يرفع من ملفنا الشخصي ويساعد في تغيير وجه السرطان.

  • تم الاعتراف بمؤسستنا الخيرية الآن من قبل NICE و SMC مما أدى إلى استشارتنا بشأن تطبيقات الأدوية الحديثة لكلا الهيئتين.

  • لقد حضرنا مؤخرًا BTOG2019 ، المؤتمر السنوي لمجموعة أورام الصدر البريطانية ، حيث حضر أكثر من 900 مندوب على مدار 3 أيام. كان جناحنا مشغولاً للغاية وقام العديد من المندوبين بأخذ نسخ من موادنا لمرضاهم المصابين بمرض ALK. تم ذكرنا خلال إحدى الندوات وتم التعرف علينا في الملصق الذي قدمه الدكتور فابيو جوميز.

  • حضرت قمة المرضى الأوروبية التي نظمتها تاكيدا في أبريل ، حيث طُلب مني مشاركة قصتنا حول كيفية تقدمنا وأهدافنا وإنجازاتنا حتى الآن. نتيجة لذلك الاجتماع ، طُلب من ALK Positive UK الآن الانضمام إلى LUCE و Lung Cancer Europe و ACC ، Advanced Cancer Coalition. آمل أن يكون لدي المزيد من الأخبار حول هذا في اجتماعنا القادم.

  • أكد كل من Takeda ، صانعي Brigatinib ، و Roche ، اللذان يصنعان Alectinib ، أنهما سيضمنان تفاصيل مؤسستنا الخيرية وموقعنا الإلكتروني ومجموعة الدعم في منشورات المرضى قيد التطوير حاليًا.

إذن ، ما الذي تخبئه الأشهر الستة المقبلة؟ حسنًا ، يمكنني أن أؤكد أننا لن نستريح على أمجادنا! بيننا نحتاج إلى التأكد من أن جميع مرضى ALK الموجودين في جميع أنحاء المملكة المتحدة على دراية بمجموعة الدعم. نحتاج أيضًا إلى التأكد من أن جميع أطباء الأورام والأورام في الجهاز العصبي المركزي يعرفون إلى أين يرسلون المرضى للحصول على الدعم والمعلومات. نريد أيضًا أن نضمن مشاركة جميع شركات الأدوية معنا عند تطوير الموارد للمرضى المصابين بمرض ALK.

 

في المستقبل القريب ، سنطلق حزمة معلومات لجميع المرضى الذين تم تشخيصهم حديثًا مع أفضل النصائح حول كيفية ضمان حصولهم على أفضل العلاجات والرعاية بغض النظر عن مكان علاجهم.

 

نحن نستكشف أيضًا خيار التطبيق لدعم المرضى الذين يسجلون التواريخ المهمة ونتائج الاختبارات والآثار الجانبية والحالة المزاجية. سنطلب من الأعضاء مساهمتهم في هذا قريبًا جدًا.

 

أود فقط أن أقول شكراً للجميع على دعم بعضهم البعض على صفحة Facebook ومشاركة قصصهم الإخبارية السارة. أرى بانتظام منشورات توضح ماهية المجموعة الرائعة وقد وجدها الناس مفيدة للغاية وداعمة. هذا يعود إلى الجميع ولا يمكنني أن أكون أكثر فخراً لكوني جزءًا من هذه المجموعة المهتمة من الناس.

 

نراكم بعد ستة أشهر ، ونأمل أن يكون هناك المزيد من الأخبار حول ما تم تحقيقه! "

 

وشكرت ديبرا على التقرير وتم تهنئة الأمناء على إنجازاتهم في مثل هذه الفترة الزمنية القصيرة.

-

تحدث الدكتور روهات لال من مركز غاي للسرطان وأجاب على الأسئلة لمدة ساعة. بعض الأمور التي تمت مناقشتها هي:

  • من المهم الحصول على الاختبار الصحيح في اللحظات الأساسية للتشخيص الأولي والتقدم ، حتى يمكن تقديم أفضل علاج. جميع الاختبارات اللازمة متوفرة في NHS. هناك حاجة لتطوير الخزعات السائلة. خزعات براين محفوفة بالمخاطر للغاية. تحتاج خزعات العظام إلى أن يعمل أخصائي الأورام وأخصائي علم الأمراض معًا حتى لا تُفوت أي آفات في الأنسجة الرخوة.

  • من الضروري أن يفهم جميع أطباء الأورام المسارات المناسبة للعلاج ويمكن أن يكون هذا موضوع مشروع بحثي.

  • لم يتضح بعد ما إذا كان استخدام العلاج الكيميائي بعد فشل TKI في "مسح" الخلايا المتبقية كان فعالًا ولكن العلاج الإشعاعي للآفات الصغيرة قد يكون مناسبًا. التجارب جارية مع نتائج مشجعة.

  • يعتبر تسلسل TKIs مشكلة. هناك حالة لاستخدام أفضل دواء أولاً ولكن قد تكون شروط الترخيص عاملاً يجب مراعاته.

  • ستطور نسبة كبيرة من مرضى ALK الموجودين في الدماغ. كان هناك نقاش حول إرشادات DVLA حول سحب رخص القيادة. من المهم أن يفهم أخصائي الأورام الإرشادات بوضوح وأن يتأكد من أن DVLA تطبقها بشكل صحيح. من المهم الحصول على هذا على جدول الأعمال في اجتماعات أطباء الأورام

  • كان هناك نقاش حول استخدام الأدوية غير الموصوفة. إنها فكرة جذابة أن بعض الأدوية يمكن أن تسد المسارات التي قد تستخدمها الخلايا السرطانية للتقدم ولكن لا يوجد دليل سريري يدعم ذلك.

  • العلاج المناعي لم يثبت فعاليته الكبيرة لمرضى ALK.

  • لا يعترض الأطباء على الآراء الثانية بشرط أن يحترموها.

  • يعتقد الدكتور لال أن الأولوية الأولى للمؤسسة الخيرية يجب أن تكون دعم المرضى الذين تم تشخيصهم حديثًا ومساعدتهم على ضمان اختبارهم ومن ثم الحصول على العلاج المناسب. في الوقت المناسب ، قد تنظر المؤسسة الخيرية في إنشاء لجنة أبحاث طبية خاصة بها وتسعى للحصول على تمويل لمشروع في المملكة المتحدة.

  • واختتم الدكتور لال بتهنئة الجمعية الخيرية على إنجازاتها حتى الآن.

 

شكرت ديبرا الدكتور لال على عرضه الملهم.

-

قال Sinead Cope من مركز Maggie أن Maggie موجودة لدعم أي شخص مصاب بالسرطان وعائلاتهم وأصدقائهم في أي وقت وأينما كانوا. يقدمون الدعم العاطفي والعملي والاجتماعي على أرض مستشفى NHS. يمكن للأشخاص تسجيل الدخول في أي وقت دون تحديد موعد والخدمة مجانية.

 

يوجد 22 مركزًا في جميع أنحاء المملكة المتحدة يقدم كل منها مجموعة واسعة من الدورات بالإضافة إلى الدعم النفسي الفردي. يعمل في هذه المراكز متخصصون في السرطان ومن المؤمل أن تكون مراكز ماجي موجودة في جميع مراكز السرطان الستين في المملكة المتحدة.

 

وزعت نشرة أوضحت بالتفصيل الخدمات المقدمة لمركزها.

 

شكرت ديبرا Sinead على عرضها المنير وشكرت Maggie على السماح لنا باستخدام مركزهم لهذا الاجتماع.

-

شكرت ديبرا الجميع على حضورها وقالت إن الاجتماع القادم من المرجح أن يعقد في برمنغهام في 7 سبتمبر.

Patient forum

Home \ Patient forum \ London 2019

London 2019

The third ALK Positive UK forum meeting took place at Maggie’s Cancer Care Centre in West London on 9th February 2019.

 

There were 20 patients and 22 carers present.

 

The meeting started with an open forum where attendees were divided into two groups in separate rooms. There then followed nearly two hours of wide-ranging discussion with patients giving an outline of their journeys.

Debra Montague, presented the following report on behalf of the Trustees of ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK):

 

"Well, we have been up and running for six months now and what a six months it has been! For those who aren’t aware the first meeting of UK patients and carers was held in London on 7th July 2018 and 15 patients and carers attended. The meeting was addressed by Dr Popat, a leading ALK+ expert, whose expected 30 minute presentation lasted 1 hour 15 minutes and ended with “blokes like me don’t make change and progress happen, it’s people like you”. It was decided that the next meeting would be in Manchester and would consider the establishment of a charity.

 

A Facebook group was established by the end of July where 47 people were added from the worldwide group. July saw us on Twitter for the first time and we increased our social media presence by starting our Instagram journey in October.

 

The Manchester meeting was held on 13th October and, although not well attended, got through an enormous amount of business, including the decision to seek charitable status. ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK) was registered by the Charity Commission in December 2018.

So what have we been up to in six months? Well, we’ve certainly been busy by the list below of achievements to date:

  • Our website went live on the first day of Lung Cancer Awareness Month in November. Unfortunately, the analytics function wasn’t activated until two weeks ago. The great news is we have had 144 visitors, averaging 11 mins viewing time in the last two weeks!!!

  • Our members have delivered the ALK Positive Patient materials to over 40 hospitals to date, which has resulted in us growing our support group to 125 now.

  • We now have 183 followers on Twitter and we have published in excess of 200 tweets in our first six months. During Lung Cancer Awareness Month, we generated 1500 impressions all of which raises our profile and helps change the face of cancer.

  • Our charity is now recognised by NICE and the SMC which has resulted in us being consulted on recent drug applications to both bodies.

  • We recently attended BTOG2019, the British Thoracic Oncology Groups annual conference, where over 900 delegates attended over 3 days. Our stand was very busy and many delegates took copies of our materials for their ALK-positive patients. We were mentioned during one of the symposia and were recognised in the poster Dr Fabio Gomes presented.

  • I attended a European Patient Summit organised by Takeda in April, where I was asked to share our story of how we came about, our aims and achievements to date. As a result of that meeting, ALK Positive UK has now been asked to join LUCE, Lung Cancer Europe, and the ACC, Advanced Cancer Coalition. I hope to have more news on this at our next meeting.

  • Both Takeda, makers of Brigatinib, and Roche, who manufacture Alectinib, have confirmed they will include details of our charity, website and support group in their patient leaflets currently in development.

So, what does the next six months hold in store? Well, I can confirm we won’t be resting on our laurels! Between us we need to make sure all ALK-positive patients throughout the UK are aware of the support group. We also need to ensure all oncologists and oncology CNSs know where to send patients for support and information. We also want to guarantee all pharmaceutical companies will engage with us when developing resources for ALK-positive patients.

 

In the immediate future, we will be launching an Information Pack for all newly diagnosed patients with top-tips on how to ensure they receive the best treatments and care irrespective of where they are being treated.

 

We are also exploring the option of an app to support patients recording important dates, test results, side effects and mood. We will be asking members for their input into this very shortly.

 

I would just like to say thank you to everyone for supporting each other on the Facebook page and sharing their good news stories. I regularly see posts stating what a great group it is and people have found it very informative and supportive. This is down to everyone and I couldn’t be prouder being a part of such a caring group of people.

 

See you in six months, with hopefully more news on what’s been achieved!"

 

Debra was thanked for the report and the Trustees were congratulated on their achievements in such a short space of time.

---

Dr Rohat Lal of Guy’s Cancer Centre spoke and answered questions for an hour. Some of the matters discussed were:

  • It is important to get the right testing at the key moments of initial diagnosis and progression, so that the best treatment can be provided. All necessary test are available on the NHS. There is a need to develop liquid biopsies. Brian biopsies are too risky. Bone biopsies need oncologist and pathologist to work together so that no lesions in soft tissue are missed.

  • It is essential that all oncologists understand the appropriate pathways for treatment and this could be the subject of a research project.

  • It isn’t yet clear whether using chemo after the failure of a TKI to “mop-up” residual cells was effective but radiotherapy for small lesions might be appropriate. Trials are in progress with encouraging results.

  • Sequencing of TKIs is an issue. There is a case for using the best drug first but licensing conditions may be a factor to consider.

  • Large proportion of ALK positive patients will develop brain mets. There was a discussion about the DVLA guidelines on the withdrawal of driving licences. Important that oncologist clearly understand the guidelines and to ensure that the DVLA apply them correctly. Important to get this on the agenda at meetings of oncologists

  • There was a discussion about the use of off-label drugs. It is an attractive idea that certain drugs can block pathways that cancer cells might use to progress but there is no clinical evidence to support this.

  • Immunotherapy is not proving very effective for ALK patients.

  • Doctors do not object to second opinions provided they can respect them.

  • Dr Lal thought that the Charity’s first priority should be to support newly diagnosed patients and to help them ensure that they are tested and then get the right treatment. In due course, the Charity might consider establishing its own medical research panel and seek funding for a UK project.

  • Dr Lal closed by congratulating the Charity on its achievements to date.

 

Debra thanked Dr Lal for his inspiring presentation.

---

Sinead Cope of Maggie’s Centre said that Maggie’s exists to support anyone with cancer and their families and friends at anytime and wherever they are. They provide emotional, practical and social support on NHS hospital grounds. People can drop-in anytime without an appointment and the service is free.

 

There are 22 centres throughout the UK and each provides a wide range of courses as well as one-to-one psychological support. The centres are staffed by cancer specialists and it is hoped that Maggie’s centres will be at all 60 cancer centres in the UK.

 

She distributed a leaflet which explained in detail the services provided her centre.

 

Debra thanked Sinead for her enlightening presentation and thanked Maggie’s for allowing us to use their centre for this meeting.

---

Debra thanked everyone for attending and said that the next meeting is likely to be held in Birmingham on 7th September.

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).