قصص المريض

مايك

تم تشخيصي مرة أخرى في سبتمبر 2017 بأنني مصاب بسرطان الرئة غير القابل للشفاء في المرحلة 4 من ALK + ، على الرغم من أنني لم أدخن مطلقًا في حياتي. حوالي 15٪ من المصابين بسرطان الرئة هم من غير المدخنين ولم يتم ذكر سوى القليل جدًا عن هذا لأنه يُعتقد أنه مرض مدخن. لطالما اتبعت أسلوب حياة ونظام غذائي صحيين ولعبت التنس بانتظام لمدة 20 عامًا.

منذ أكثر من عامين بقليل ، ذهبت إلى الأطباء مصابًا بسعال جاف مستمر. لقد تمت رؤيتي من قبل طبيب عام متدرب يعتقد أنه قد يكون ناتجًا عن ارتداد الحمض. تناولت بعض الأقراص وخمد السعال لفترة طويلة. في منتصف شهر يونيو 2017 بدأت فجأة أشعر بضيق في التنفس عند اللعب في مباريات التنس. ذهبت إلى الأطباء وأرسلوني لأخذ صورة بالأشعة السينية على الصدر. كانت النتائج سلبية ، لذلك استبعدوا أي شيء خطير وبدأوا اختبار الربو المتأخر. بعد حوالي 6 أسابيع ، لم أحصل على أي تحسن من أجهزة الاستنشاق للربو ، لذلك سئلت عما إذا كان بإمكاني استخدام تأمين الرعاية الصحية الخاص بي لرؤية أخصائي في مستشفى تشيلتيرن. اعتقد الأخصائي أن أعراضي مرتبطة بالربو وبدأ في اختباري مرة أخرى ، لذلك مرت 6 أسابيع أخرى. واصلت لعب التنس ، وبعد مباراة مرهقة بشكل خاص ، سعلت كثيرًا

Mike.jpg

لاحظت بقعة صغيرة من الدم. قمت بتصويرها وعرضتها على الأخصائي في الموعد التالي. تم إرسالي بعد ذلك لإجراء فحص بالأشعة المقطعية وبعد يوم أو يومين قيل لي أن هناك ظلًا مريبًا في رئتي. بعد ذلك ، تم حجز تنظير القصبات وبعد حوالي أسبوع من ذلك تم إخباري بأنني مصاب بسرطان الرئة المتقدم الذي انتشر في هذه المرحلة إلى الجهاز الليمفاوي. كان لدي ورم صغير تحت عظمة الترقوة.

 

نجح خط علاجي الأول جيدًا لمدة 4 أشهر تقريبًا ، مما قلل من حجم الأورام. تم التخلص من ضيق التنفس لدي ، ولمدة شهرين تمكنت من اللعب الفردي مرة أخرى. ولكن في كانون الثاني (يناير) 2018 ، عاد ضيق التنفس وتبعه بعد شهرين سعال كمية كبيرة من الدم. لقد استخدمت التأمين الخاص بي لإجراء تصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للدماغ لأن سياسة ثقة Bucks NHS هي فقط لإنجاز واحد إذا كانت هناك أعراض لأورام الدماغ مثل النوبات وما إلى ذلك. في اجتماعي التالي مع طبيب الأورام في مستشفى ويكومب أُعطي لي أن السرطان انتشر إلى مناطق متعددة في الدماغ وبطانة الدماغ. نتيجة لذلك ، كان علي أن أخبر DVLA ولم أعد قادرًا على القيادة.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن خط الدواء الأول لديه حماية قليلة للدماغ ونسبة عالية من المصابين بسرطان الرئة لديهم تقدم في هذا المجال. إدراكًا لخطورة هذه الأخبار ، طلبت من أخصائي الأورام الخاص بي الحصول على رأي ثانٍ من أخصائي المملكة المتحدة الدكتور بوبات في مارسدن في لندن. لحسن الحظ ، لقد فعلت ذلك ، وأوضح كيف يمكنهم التقدم مباشرة إلى شركة أدوية للحصول على حق الوصول المبكر إلى دواء جديد ثبت أنه فعال للغاية على المرضى في الولايات المتحدة في كل من الرئتين والدماغ. لم يتم ترخيص عقار Brigatinib بعد من قبل NICE في المملكة المتحدة.

بدأت العلاج في منتصف يونيو وبحلول أوائل أغسطس عندما خضعت لفحص ثانٍ بالرنين المغناطيسي ، كان المرض قد اختفى فعليًا في الدماغ! بحلول أكتوبر 2018 ، اختفى المرض تقريبًا من العقد الليمفاوية والرئتين. لقد اختفى الورم الذي كان يسد مجرى الهواء تمامًا وبالنسبة للورم الرئيسي ، لم يكن هناك سوى تجويف مرئي في عمليات المسح ، حيث كان في أسفل رئتي اليمنى.

إذا تم تشخيصي قبل خمسة عشر عامًا ، فإن الاحتمالات هي أنني لم أكن لأعيش ما دمت بالفعل. إن التطورات الجديدة في الطب ، مثل العلاجات الموجهة والعلاج المناعي ، تقدم للمرضى تكهنات أفضل بكثير مما كانت عليه في الماضي.

Patient stories

Mike

I was diagnosed back in September 2017 with incurable inoperable stage 4 ALK+ lung cancer, even though I had never smoked in my life. About 15% of lung cancer sufferers are non-smokers and very little is mentioned about this as it's thought to be a smoker’s disease. I have always pursued a healthy lifestyle and diet and for 20 years I have regularly played tennis.

Just over 2 years ago, I went to the doctors with a persistent dry cough. I was seen by a trainee GP who thought it may be caused by acid reflux. I took some tablets and the cough subsided for quite a while. About mid-June 2017 I suddenly began experiencing breathlessness when playing at tennis matches. I went to the doctors and they sent me to get a chest X-ray. The results were negative, so they ruled out anything serious and began testing for late onset asthma. After about 6 weeks, I was getting no improvement from the asthma inhalers so asked if I could use my private healthcare insurance to see a specialist at the Chiltern Hospital. The specialist thought that my symptoms were asthma related and started testing me all over again, so another 6 weeks went by. I kept on playing tennis, and after a particularly exhausting match, I coughed a lot and

noticed a small speck of blood. I photographed it and showed it to the specialist at the next appointment. I was then sent to get a CT scan and a day or 2 later was told there was a suspicious shadow in my lung. Following this, a Bronchoscopy was booked and about a week after that I was told that I had advanced lung cancer that had at this point spread to the lymph system. I had a small tumour just under my collar bone.

 

My first line treatment worked well for about 4 months, reducing the size of the tumours. My breathlessness cleared and for 2 months I could again play singles. But in January 2018, the breathlessness returned followed 2 months later by coughing considerable amount of blood. I used my private insurance to get a brain MRI done as the policy of Bucks NHS trust is only to get one done if there are symptoms of brain tumours such as seizures etc. On my next meeting with my Oncologist at Wycombe hospital, the bad news was given to me that the cancer had spread to multiple areas in the brain and the brain lining. As a result, I had to tell the DVLA and am no longer able to drive.

Unfortunately, the first line drug has little protection for the brain and a high percentage of those with lung cancer have progression in this area. Realising the seriousness of this news, I asked my Oncologist to get a second opinion from the UK specialist Dr Popat at the Marsden in London. Thankfully I did this, and he outlined how they could apply directly to a drug company to get early access to a new drug that has been proved to be very effective on patients in the USA both in the lungs and brain. The drug Brigatinib was not yet licenced by NICE in the UK.

I began the treatment mid-June and by early August when I got a second MRI scan the disease was virtually gone in the brain! By October 2018, the disease had also virtually vanished from the lymph nodes and lungs. The tumour that had been blocking my airway had totally gone and for the primary tumour, only a cavity was visible on the scans, where it had been in the bottom of my right lung.

If I had been diagnosed fifteen years earlier, the chances are that I would not have survived as long as I already have. New advances in medicine such as targeted therapies and immunotherapy are giving sufferers a much better prognosis than in the past.

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).