قصص المريض

تيري

كان يوم 17 يناير 2018 ، وكنا في Shepherds Bush Empire لمشاهدة فرقتنا المفضلة King King! عادةً ما كنت سأكون متحمسًا حقًا لأنهم حقًا جماعة رائعة من موسيقى الروك والبلوز ، ومع ذلك ، كانت هذه هي المرة الأولى التي أخوض فيها أي شيء كهذا منذ أن أخبروه عن مرضي في سبتمبر الماضي ، وشعرت بعدم الارتياح حقًا.

لقد أصابتني الأخبار تمامًا لمدة ستة أعوام ، بصفتي غير مدخن ، لم أكن أعتقد حقًا أنه سيتم إخباري بأنني مصابة بسرطان الرئة ، ناهيك عن المرحلة الرابعة وغير قابلة للشفاء. كانت الأسابيع والأشهر التي تلت ذلك صعبة للغاية بالنسبة لي وكارين للتعامل معها لأنني كنت سيئًا للغاية ، سواء في ذهني أو  جسدي.

Terry.jpg

ثم فجأة في إحدى الأمسيات اتصل طبيب الأورام لي ليخبرني أن نتيجة اختبار ALK إيجابية ، وهو نوع من السرطان يتم علاجه بواسطة جهاز لوحي بدلاً من العلاج الكيميائي التقليدي. لقد وعد هذا بشكل أفضل من العلاج وطول العمر المتوقع ولكنه لم يساعد مزاجي كثيرًا.

لذلك نحن هنا في انتظار بدء الحفلة الموسيقية. كنت أشعر بقلق شديد ، مرت كل أنواع الأفكار في رأسي ، هل ستكون هذه الحفلة الموسيقية الأخيرة التي أحضرها؟ كيف سأتعامل عاطفيا؟

ثم حدث شيء كان يغير وجهة نظري للحياة والعيش مع السرطان.

ثم قدم آلان نيمو أغنية يدرجها دائمًا في مجموعته ، وكانت مكتوبة لأخيه ستيفي الذي ، على الرغم من إصابته بالسرطان ، استمر في الحياة كالمعتاد. وجد آلان هذا صعبًا في التعامل معه ولم يستطع فهم كيف يمكن أن يكون ستيفي قويًا جدًا وكتب كيف شعر حيال ذلك.

عندما بدأت الأغنية كان هذا بالنسبة لي ، وسط 1500 شخص بكيت كالطفل! (أعتقد أنني أفلتت من العقاب ، على الرغم من أنني أظن أن ابنتي ربما لاحظت ذلك!)

بشكل لا يصدق ، بعد تلك الأغنية بدت الأمور وكأنها فجر لي وبدأت أخيرًا في فهم وضعي ، أولاً ، بدأت في الاستمتاع بنفسي ، الفرقة رائعة ولا يمكنك إلا أن تحب الموسيقى ، وقد أدركت أن هناك ما هو أكثر في الحياة من السرطان.

اتضح لي أيضًا أن مزاجي كان يؤثر على المقربين مني ويؤثر عليهم ، وكانت حياتي بائسة بسبب مزاجي وسلوكي بدلاً من مرضي ، ويمكنني أن أفعل شيئًا حيال ذلك.

بالتفكير في الأغنية استطعت أن أفهم لماذا كان ستيفي قويًا جدًا ، لأنه أراد أن تكون أسرته سعيدة ولا تقلق بشأنه طوال الوقت ، كان علي أن أجد القوة من مكان ما.

ذكرت نفسي أن أمسيات مثل هذه كانت ممكنة وسيكون هناك المزيد من الأوقات الجيدة على الأبواب. أقول لنفسي كل يوم أن اليوم سيكون يومًا جيدًا (وغالبًا ما يكون كذلك).

مع مرور الوقت ، مررت بنكسات وأيام جيدة ، لقد انضممت إلى مجموعة ALK الإيجابية في المملكة المتحدة وهم رائعون بالنسبة لي ، لم أعد أشعر بالوحدة ويقومون بأشياء رائعة لتوعية الناس بهذا الشكل النادر من الرئة سرطان. يوجد حوالي 3000 فقط مع ALK في المملكة المتحدة و 100 فقط أو نحو ذلك من المرضى ومقدمي الرعاية في مجموعتنا. علينا أن نجعل الناس يدركون أن غير المدخنين يمكن أن يصابوا بالسرطان أيضًا وأن يتم فحصهم إذا ظهرت الأعراض.

لقد استثمرت أنا وكارين جزءًا من معاشنا التقاعدي في منزل عطلة في جزيرة ميرسي في إسيكس. كارين تسميها "بولثول" ونحن نسترخي حقًا عندما نكون هناك. ومع ذلك ، ما زلت أعمل (وإن كان ذلك بدوام جزئي).

ولقد رأينا King King مرتين منذ تلك الحفلة في 2018! لولا الفرقة والجماهير والموسيقى التي عُزفت في ذلك اليوم المشؤوم في يناير 2018 ، لا أعرف كيف ستكون حياتي الآن (أو حتى لو كان لا يزال لدي واحدة!).

Patient stories

Terry

It was January 17th, 2018 and we were at the Shepherds Bush Empire to see our favourite band King King! Normally I would have been really excited as they truly are a fabulous Rock and Blues outfit, however, this was the first time I had ventured out to anything like this since being told about my disease on the previous September, and it felt really uneasy.

The news totally knocked me for six, as a non-smoker I really did not think I would be told I had lung cancer, let alone stage 4 and incurable. The weeks and months that followed were incredibly hard for me and Karen to deal with as I was very poorly, both in my mind and my body.

Then out of the blue one evening my oncologist called to tell me I had tested positive for ALK, which is a form of cancer that is treated by a tablet rather than conventional chemotherapy. This promised a better form of treatment and a longer life expectancy but did not help my mood over much.

So here we are awaiting the start of the concert. I was feeling very anxious, all sorts of thoughts went through my head, would this be the last concert I go to? How would I cope emotionally?

Then something happened that was to change my outlook on life and living with my cancer.

Alan Nimmo then introduced a song he always includes in his set, it was written for his brother Stevie who, despite contracting cancer, just carried on with life as normal. Alan found this hard to deal with and could not understand how Stevie could be so strong and wrote how he felt about it.

When the song started that was it for me, in the midst of 1500 people I wept like a baby! (I think I got away with it, although I suspect my daughter may have noticed!)

Incredibly, after that song things seemed to dawn on me and I finally started to make sense of my situation, firstly, I started to enjoy myself, the band is incredible and you can’t help but love the music, and I’d realised that there is more to life than cancer.

It also dawned on me that my mood was affecting those close to me and bringing them down, my life was miserable because of my mood and attitude rather than my illness, and I could do something about that.

Thinking about the song I could understand why Stevie was so strong, it was because he wanted his family to be happy and not worry about him all the time, I had to find the strength from somewhere.

I reminded myself that evenings like this were possible and there would be more good times around the corner. I tell myself each day that today’s going to be a good day (and more often than not, it is).

As times gone on, I have had setbacks and good days, I have joined the ALK positive group in the UK and they are fantastic for me, I no longer feel alone and they do wonderful things to make people aware of this rare form of lung cancer. There are only around 3000 with ALK in the UK and only 100 or so patients and carers in our group. We have to make people aware that non-smokers can get cancer too and get checked for it if symptoms present themselves.

Karen and I have invested part of our pension into a holiday home on Mersea Island in Essex. Karen calls it our “bolthole” and we truly relax when we are there. That said, I am still working (albeit part-time).

And, we have been to see King King twice more since that gig in 2018! If it wasn't for the band, the fans and the music played on that fateful day in January 2018, I don`t know what my life would be like now (or even if I would still have one!).

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).