قصص المريض

دنكان

إنه 2 يوليو 2019 - لقد انتهيت للتو من التقديم لحوالي أربعين من عملائي في وسط برمنغهام وقمت بإعادة تشغيل الطريق السريع إلى المنزل في شيشاير. لا راحة للأشرار رغم ذلك ، لا يزال لدي عمل لأقوم به ، لذلك أقول مرحبًا لزوجتي لفترة وجيزة وأختفي في مكتبي لمتابعة رسائل البريد الإلكتروني. بعد حوالي خمسة عشر دقيقة من الجلوس ، بدأت أشعر بالضحك - بدأ لساني يشعر بالثقل وأنا أعاني من أجل التحدث - أخبر زوجتي وبعد ذلك أصبح كل شيء مجنونًا! أفقد السيطرة على الجانب الأيسر من جسدي وبدأت أعاني من تقلصات - لا أعرف ذلك في ذلك الوقت ، لكنني أعاني من نوبة صرع. بعد خمسة عشر دقيقة ، أجلس على الأريكة أشعر بالدوار والخوف قليلاً ، أتحدث إلى المسعفين - اعتقدت زوجتي أنني أصبت بجلطة دماغية واستدعت سيارة إسعاف.

ما تلا ذلك كان زوبعة لمدة خمسة أسابيع من الإقامة في المستشفى ، والمواعيد مع الاستشاريين ، والمسح الضوئي والخزعات ، وبلغت ذروتها في جراحة الدماغ لإزالة ورم كبير (ثلاثة سنتيمترات) وتشخيص المرحلة الرابعة من ALK + سرطان الرئة ذو الخلايا غير الصغيرة النقيلي. لقد انتقلت من كوني صحية إلى حد معقول في التاسعة والأربعين من العمر إلى التعافي من الجراحة الكبرى وقيل لي إنني مصاب بمرض عضال في غضون بضعة أسابيع.

Duncan.PNG

في هذه المرحلة ، أخبرتني ممرضة من Macmillan في المستشفى المحلي الذي أعمل به عن مجموعة ALK الخيرية الإيجابية والدعم والتي تغيرت كثيرًا - بينما يمكننا ويجب علينا التحدث مع أصدقائنا وعائلتنا حول هذا المرض ، هناك الكثير مما يمكنهم فعله تعاطف أو نتوقع منهم ذلك ، بالإضافة إلى أنه لا يوجد شيء مثل الصراحة والفكاهة من زميل مريض لوضع الأمور في نصابها وإبتهاجك! أي شيء تتعامل معه ، ربما يكون أحد الأعضاء الآخرين قد مر به بالفعل وتلك التجربة المشتركة تساعد في فهم هذا المرض الرهيب.

عندما طُلب مني كتابة قصتي ، ذهبت وقرأت جميع القصص الأخرى المنشورة بالفعل على alkpositive.org.uk. ما أدركته هو كم أنا محظوظ - لقد تحسن التشخيص والعلاج كثيرًا في غضون عشر سنوات - منذ اللحظة التي علمت فيها أنني ربما أصبت بسرطان الرئة ، إلى أن تشخيصي بـ ALK + استغرق أقل من أربعة أسابيع - وهذا يعني أنني يجب أن أتجنب (لأنه في الوقت الحالي على الأقل) الخضوع للعلاج الإشعاعي والعلاج الكيميائي والجراحة الكبرى لإزالة جزء من رئتي ، وهذا يعني أنه بعد ثلاثة أشهر فقط من النوبة الأولى ، عدت إلى العمل بدوام كامل.

أحتفل بعيد ميلادي الخمسين في غضون أسابيع قليلة - في الصيف الماضي لم أكن أعتقد حقًا أنني سأصل إلى هناك - كنت أتعاطى عقار TKI Alectinib الآن منذ أغسطس 2019. بعد الجراحة لم أعاني من أي أورام أخرى في عقلي ، الأورام في رئتي قد تقلصت إلى مجرد ندبات ، كما اختفت مؤشرات الإصابة بالسرطان في العقد الليمفاوية. لدي بعض الآثار الجانبية الطفيفة من الأدوية ، لكن لا شيء يمنعني من عيش حياة طبيعية نسبيًا. أقوم الآن بزيارة مستشفى كريستي في مانشستر مرة واحدة شهريًا لإجراء فحوصات الدم وللتقاط ما يكفي من الأدوية لأشهر أخرى ، ثم كل ثلاثة أشهر أجري فحصًا بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للتحقق من أي علامات للتقدم.

هناك سبب يجعل السرطان معروفًا باسم "إمبراطور جميع الأمراض" - عندما يتم تشخيصك ، فإنه يضربك مثل قطار سريع ومن المغري للغاية أن تتجعد وتنسحب من العالم. أنا لست شخصًا مقتنعًا بأن الموقف الإيجابي والمشرق يحدث أي فرق مادي في كيفية محاربة جسمك لهذا المرض ، لكنني أعتقد أنه سيجعل الوقت المتبقي لنا تجربة ممتعة أكثر بكثير لمن يعانون من السرطان. ولأصدقائنا وعائلتنا. كل شخص يموت - الاختلاف الوحيد بالنسبة لنا هو أن لدينا المزيد من الأدلة حول الوقت المحتمل أن يكون ذلك - كيف نختار قضاء الوقت المتبقي لدينا هو كل ما يهم.

Patient stories

Duncan

It’s 2nd July 2019 – I’ve just finished presenting to about forty of my customers in central Birmingham and have zipped back up the motorway to home in Cheshire. No rest for the wicked though, I still have work to do, so I say hi to my wife briefly and vanish into my office to catch up on emails. About fifteen minutes after sitting down I start to feel funny – my tongue starts to feel thick and I’m struggling to talk – I tell my wife and then everything goes crazy! I lose control of the left side of my body and start having spasms – I don’t know it at the time, but I’m having a brain seizure. Fifteen minutes later I’m sitting on the sofa feeling dazed and a bit scared, talking to paramedics – my wife thought I was having a stroke and called an ambulance.

What followed was a five week whirlwind of hospital stays, appointments with consultants, scans and biopsies, culminating in brain surgery to remove a large (three centimetre) tumour and a diagnosis of stage IV ALK+ metastatic non-small cell lung cancer. I’d gone from being a reasonably healthy forty-nine year old to recovering from major surgery and being told I have an incurable disease all in the space of a few weeks.

It was at this point that a Macmillan Nurse at my local hospital told me about the ALK Positive charity and support group and that changed a lot – whilst we can and should talk with our friends and family about this illness, there’s only so much they can empathise with or that we should expect them to, plus there’s nothing like the bluntness and humour of a fellow patient to put things in perspective and cheer you up! Anything you are dealing with, one of the other members has probably already lived through and that shared experience helps to make sense of this horrible disease.

When I was asked to write my story I went and read all the other stories already published on alkpositive.org.uk. What I realised is how lucky I am – diagnosis and treatment have improved a lot in ten years – from the moment I knew I probably had lung cancer, to my diagnosis with ALK+ took less than four weeks – this meant I got to avoid (for the time being at least) going through radiotherapy, chemotherapy, and a major surgery to remove part of one of my lungs, and it meant that just three months after that first seizure I was back at work full time.

I’m celebrating my fiftieth Birthday in a few weeks – last summer I really didn’t think I would get there – I’ve been on the TKI drug Alectinib now since August 2019. After my surgery I’ve had no further tumours in my brain, the tumours in my lungs have reduced to just scarring and the indication of cancer in my lymph nodes have also cleared up. I have a few minor side effects from the drugs, but nothing that stops me leading a relatively normal life. I now visit the Christie hospital in Manchester once a month for blood tests and to pick up another months’ worth of my medication, then every three months have a CT and MRI scan to check for any signs of progression.

There’s a reason why cancer is known as “the emperor of all maladies” – when you get diagnosed it hits you like an express train and it’s so tempting to curl in a ball and just retreat from the world. I’m not someone who is convinced that a positive and bright attitude makes any material difference to how your body fights this disease, but I do think that it will make the time we have left a much more pleasant experience for those of us with cancer and for our friends and family. Everyone dies – the only difference for us is we have a bit more of a clue of when that is likely to be – how we choose to spend the time we have remaining is all that matters.

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).