قصص المريض

ديبي

تم تشخيصي في فبراير 2019 ، قبل أسبوعين من عيد ميلادي السادس والثلاثين. أنا  لم يكن لديه أي أعراض لسرطان الرئة على الإطلاق. العلامات الوحيدة التي كانت لدي كانت  من ورم ثانوي في الدماغ تم تشخيصه خطأ على أنه دوار لمدة 3  أشهر (بسبب عمري).  لكن  لم تكن الأمور على ما يرام واستمر الأطباء في إخباري بشيء  كانت خطيرة وسيستمر دواري بعد أسبوعين. ظللت أعود إلى
يقول الأطباء إن الأمر لا يزول ويزداد سوءًا.

 

في ديسمبر ، أنا  بدأ يصاب بالصداع ولكن مرة أخرى قيل أنه لا يوجد شيء خطير  تقلق. بعد العودة إلى العمل ، زاد صداعى ،  بعد رحلتين إلى A&E (واحدة في سيارة إسعاف) ، ما زلت أعاني من أجل الوصول  لأخذ دمي وإجراء فحص ، على الرغم من أنني كنت مستلقية على  سرير سيارة الإسعاف في ألم شديد لم أستطع الوقوف.

Debbie.jpg

شكرا لأمي  ووجود أبي هناك ، قاموا في النهاية بفحصي ووجدوا كتلة. انا كنت  ثم أرسل إلى مركز والتون وعمل في اليوم التالي.

 

عندما كنت في المستشفى ، اكتشفت أن الورم كان ثانويًا وبعد الفحوصات وجد أن المرحلة الأولية كانت في الرئة. من الورم الذي أخرجوه ، اكتشفوا أنني مصابة بسرطان الرئة من المرحلة الرابعة ، وتحديداً إيجابي ALK.

في فبراير ، تلقيت 5 جولات من العلاج الإشعاعي لرأسي وفي أوائل مارس بدأت في تناول عقار أكتينيب. حتى الآن ، أظهرت الفحوصات الشهرية الثلاثة التي أجريتها أن كل شيء واضح على رأسي وأنني مستقر في رئتي. معظم هذا العام كنت أتعافى بشكل أساسي من جراحة الدماغ وأعود إلى الحياة الأسرية. لدي زوج جميل وطفلين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 4 و 6 سنوات.  لقد شاهدت أصغر مدرسة لي في سبتمبر / أيلول وأقدم بداية لي في السنة الثانية.  آمل أن أعود إلى العمل بدوام جزئي في العام المقبل في يناير ، وأن أبدأ في استعادة المزيد من حياتي. لقد بدأت حتى صالة الألعاب الرياضية (أنا عذراء في صالة الألعاب الرياضية)!

Patient stories

Debbie

I was diagnosed in February 2019, two weeks before my 36th Birthday. I had no symptoms of lung cancer whatsoever. The only signs I had were from a secondary brain tumour which was misdiagnosed as vertigo for 3 months (due to my age). But things didn't feel quite right and the doctors kept telling me nothing was serious and my vertigo would go after 2 weeks. I kept going back to
the doctors saying it's not going away and is getting worse.

 

In December, I started to get headaches but again was told there was nothing serious to worry about. After returning to work, my headaches increased and, after two trips to A&E (one in an ambulance), I still struggled to get them to take my bloods and do a scan, even though I was lying on the ambulance bed in so much pain I couldn't stand up.

Thanks to my Mum and Dad being there, they eventually scanned me and found a lump. I was then sent to The Walton Centre and operated on the next day.

 

When in hospital, I found out the tumour was secondary and after scans my primary was found to be in the lung. From the tumour they took out, they discovered I had stage 4 lung cancer, specifically ALK positive.

In February, I had 5 rounds of radiotherapy for my head and in early March I started taking Alectinib. So far, my 3 monthly scans have shown all clear on my head and I am stable on my lungs. Most of this year has been me mainly recovering from the brain surgery and getting back into family life. I have a lovely husband and two children aged 4 and 6.  I watched my youngest start school this September and my oldest start year 2.  I hope to go back to work part-time next year in January, and start to get more of my life back. I have even started the gym (I am a gym virgin)!

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).