قصص المريض

كيم

أنا كيم ، أم لطفلين جميلين تبلغ أعمارهم 12 و 9 سنوات - سكايلا ولوغان.

كنت "مريضة" لفترة من الوقت قبل التشخيص. كان عمري 45 عامًا كما كان منذ عامين تقريبًا في مايو. اعتقد أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء أن هناك شيئًا خاطئًا لكنهم لم يعرفوا ماذا. لم أستطع المشي بشكل صحيح أو بأي سرعة ، كنت أعاني من صداع شديد وفي النهاية كنت مريضًا للغاية.


ذهبت إلى الأطباء عدة مرات على مدار بضعة أشهر وشُخصت خطأً بالتهاب المعدة والأمعاء ثم الاكتئاب. حتى أنهم جاؤوا إلى المنزل. أصرت والدتي على حجز موعد لإجراء مسح ضوئي للرأس ، لكنهم قالوا لا. في النهاية ، كنت بهذا السوء ، اتصلت أمي بسيارة إسعاف - على الفور قال الشاب إنها عصبية. انا كنت

Kim.JPG

هرع إلى مستشفي المحلي في برمنغهام - Good Hope - أجري فحصًا على الفور وقيل لي إنني مصاب بآفة في الدماغ! لقد صدمنا جميعًا ، على الرغم من أنني خرجت منه ولا أتذكر الكثير ولن أكون هنا الآن إذا لم أذهب في تلك الليلة!

ثم تم نقلي إلى مستشفى برمنغهام كوين إليزابيث حيث قيل لي إنني مصاب بورم في المخ بحجم البويضة. تم إجراء هذه العملية بعد 8 أيام - أخذوا 75٪ منها بعيدًا - بمجرد أن استيقظت بدا الأمر وكأنني حصلت على فرصة جديدة للحياة ولم يعد عقلي يشعر بأنه `` ضبابي ''.

خلال هذا الوقت ، أجريت فحصًا بالأشعة المقطعية وخزعة ليتم إخباري لاحقًا بأنني مصابة بسرطان الرئة غير القابل للشفاء في المرحلة الأولية 4 وأنه انتشر إلى العقد الليمفاوية. تم التلميح إلى أن لدي بضعة أشهر لأعيشها. مخيف هو بخس ...

ثم تلقيت "الأخبار السارة" بأنني أصبت بنوع نادر من سرطان الرئة يسمى سرطان الرئة ذو الخلايا غير الصغيرة الموجب ALK. بعد ذلك ، دخلت في تجربة ساعدتني لمدة عام ونصف.  بعد العلاج الإشعاعي باستخدام cyberknife ، انتفخ ورم دماغي الذي تم إجراء العملية عليه مما تسبب في مشاكل لي منذ ذلك الحين.

منذ التشخيص ، أحاول أن "أعيش أفضل حياتي" - ذهبت إلى كوبا مع شابي في مارس الماضي ، تينيريفي مع أمي وأطفالي في أغسطس الماضي. أخطط للذهاب إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لمدة 3 أسابيع في يونيو وحجزت Butlins للأطفال في أغسطس.

ما زلت إيجابيًا وأتواصل مع الأصدقاء كثيرًا. لقد كان عملي رائعًا - كنت أعمل 32 ساعة على مدار 4 أيام ، لكنني الآن أعمل 16 ساعة على مدار يومين. المشكلة الرئيسية هي عدم القدرة على القيادة. بالنسبة للعمل ، أستخدم "الوصول إلى العمل" الذي يساهم في تنقلاتي.

في العام الماضي ، استمتعت أيضًا بالقيام بجولة Wing Walk في أحد أكثر الأيام حرارة حيث تمكنت من جمع حوالي 1500 جنيه إسترليني. في شهر أبريل من هذا العام ، أقوم بحملة أبسل لذا أتطلع إلى ذلك على الرغم من أنني خائف من المرتفعات!

لقد كانت والدتي بمثابة الله ، وكذلك عائلتي وأصدقائي. ما زلت إيجابيا وأحاول الحفاظ على لياقتي مع المشي والسباحة.

للأسف ، توفي كيم في نوفمبر 2020.

Patient stories

Kim

I am Kim, a mum of two beautiful children age 12 and 9 - Skyla and Logan.

I was ‘ill’ for a while before diagnosis. I was 45 as it was almost 2 years ago in May. Family and friends thought there was something wrong but didn’t know what. I couldn’t walk properly or at any speed, I had headaches a lot and towards the end was terribly sick.


I went to the doctors a few times over a few months and was misdiagnosed with gastroenteritis and then depression. They even came to the house. My mum insisted I get booked in for a head scan, but they said no. In the end, I was that bad my mum called an ambulance - straight away the chap said that it was neural. I was

rushed to my local Birmingham hospital - Good Hope - had a scan right away and was told I had a brain lesion! We were all shocked, even though I was out of it and can’t remember much and wouldn’t be here now if I hadn’t gone in that night!

I was then rushed to Birmingham Queen Elizabeth hospital where I was told I have a brain tumour the size of an egg. This was operated on 8 days later - they took 75% of it away- once I woke it was like I had a new lease of life and my brain no longer felt ‘fuzzy’.

During this time, I had a CT scan and a biopsy to be told later on that I had primary stage 4 incurable lung cancer and that it had spread to my Lymph nodes. It was hinted I had a few months to live. Scary is an understatement…

Then I got the ‘good news’ that I had a rare form of lung cancer called ALK positive Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer. After that, I entered a trial which helped me for a year and a half.  After cyberknife radiotherapy, my brain tumour that was operated on got swollen which has has caused me problems since.

Since diagnosis, I try to ‘live my best life’ - I went to Cuba with my chap last March, Tenerife with my mum and kids last August. I plan on going to USA for 3 weeks in June and booked Butlins for the kids August.

I remain positive and socialise with friends a lot. My work has been super - I used to work 32 hours across 4 days, but now I work 16 hours across 2 days. The main problem is not being able to drive. For work I use ‘Access To Work’ which contributes towards my commute.

Last year, I also enjoyed doing a ‘Wing Walk’ on one of the hottest days where I managed to raise around £1500. This April, I am doing an abseil so looking forward to that even though I am scared of heights!

My mum has been a god send, as well as my family and friends. I remain positive and am trying to keep fit with walking and swimming.

ALK POSITIVE UK is a proud member of
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
UK Lung Cancer Coalition.jpg

ALK POSITIVE UK is a registered charity in England and Wales, registration number 1181171

©2020 by ALK Positive Lung Cancer (UK).